Abiding status Edit
Abiding status traits are usually earned by holding a position within a sect. So long as a vampire continues to hold that position, abiding status refreshes at the beginning of each game session. If a character loses a sect position during a game, any unspent abiding status she was carrying from that position is immediately removed (she cannot expend it as she is losing the position). Even if the character has more than one sect position, she does not gain the second position’s abiding status during this game. Also, when a character gains a new sect position, she does not gain that position’s abiding status until the beginning of the next game.
• Passive: While you possess Authority, you can award an individual the fleeting status Courageous, Defender, Honorable, or Loyal or without expending this status. An individual can only hold a single status from your use of Authority at a time, but can benefit from repeated uses of Authority, so long as they originate from separate sources.
• Spent: You can expend Authority to punish or pardon another character, giving or removing the negative status Warned or Forsaken.
• Passive: While you possess Commander, you may issue orders to any member of your sect who does not possess the status Authority, and you expect those orders to be obeyed. Those who defy you or disobey a direct order have all fleeting status traits they possess expended without effect. Fleeting traits lost in this manner are lost temporarily, and they return after one month or two games. The target cannot gain any further fleeting status while under this effect. Further, you may award up to three individuals the status Enforcer for a single night, deputizing them under your command.
• Spent: You may expend Commander to award fleeting status to up to three characters, awarding each individual either Courageous or Loyal.
• Passive Bonus: While you possess Confirmed, you may approach any officer of the sect without a formal introduction, without social penalty.
• Spend Bonus: You can expend Confirmed to order a non-supernatural mortal (including ghouls, revenants and the like) who is beholden to your sect to obey your instructions, unless they directly contradict with prior orders from the mortal’s master (domitor, etc.). If the target refuses, you have the authority to kill the mortal (or have her killed) without reprisal, as part of the Camarilla’s rules of social conduct. Confirmed cannot be expended in combat.
• Passive: While you possess Enforcer, you may carry weapons to any gathering, including restricted locations. Vampiric authorities must allow you to go armed. (Note that mortal authorities, and individuals not of your sect, are under no such agreement.) You may also deputize up to two other members of your sect, granting them the fleeting status Defender for a single night.
• Spent: You can expend Enforcer to issue the negative status Warned to an individual whom you legitimately believe has broken the law of your sect or local domain.
• Passive: While you possess Established, an individual who openly insults, threatens, or attacks you automatically receives the negative status Warned. Offenses made entirely in private, or which are subtle enough to be obscured, do not trigger this passive effect. Characters that currently possess the Authority, Commander, or Triumphant status traits are immune to this passive effect.
• Spent: You can expend Established to award an individual the fleeting status Favored.
• Passive: While you possess Guardian, you may award the negative status Warned to anyone who behaves inappropriately within your jurisdiction or does not respect the authority of your proclamations.
• Spent: You may expend the status trait Guardian to award someone the negative status Disgraced. Keepers of Elysium may thus punish defilers of Elysium, calling them “Profane,” while Harpies may punish someone who has been proven to have broken a legitimate boon, calling them “Boonbreaker.”
• Passive: While you possess Noble status, you may award any individual the fleeting status Acclaimed or Loyal without expending this status. An individual can only hold a single status from your Noble status at a time, but may benefit from repeated uses of Noble so long as they originate from separate sources.
• Spent: Expend Noble to award an individual who has caused significant offense the negative status Vulgar.
• Passive: While you possess Prominent, you may award any individual the fleeting status Honorable or Courteous without expending this status. An individual can only hold a single status from your Prominent at a time, but can benefit from repeated uses of Prominent so long as they originate from separate sources.
• Spent: If you expend Prominent, an individual you target must physically leave a scene (small area or single room) for the next 10 minutes, effectively exiling them from a social situation. If they do not do so, they gain the negative status Disgraced. Prominent cannot be expended in combat.
• Passive: While you possess Privileged, you cannot be openly or effectively accused of lying unless the accuser possesses the status traits Privileged, Commander, Triumphant, or Authority. This does not mean other characters must believe what you say, only that they cannot publically challenge its veracity.
• Spent: You may expend Privileged status to give someone the Vulgar negative status trait.
• Passive: While you possess Sovereign status, you control the praxis of a domain. You may award an individual the fleeting status Courteous, Enforcer, or Loyal without expending this status. An individual can only hold a single status from your use of Sovereign at a time, but may benefit from repeated uses of Sovereign so long as they originate from separate sources. Further, you cannot bopenly contradicted within the domain where you hold praxis, unless the individual possesses either the status trait Privileged or the status trait Authority.
• Spent: Expend the status trait Sovereign to give your target the fleeting status Sanctioned or to initiate a blood hunt against your target. If you are blood hunted, you are considered to have the negative status Forsaken while in that Prince’s city. This has no effect if you travel to a city where you are not blood hunted. If the wielder of this status dies or is removed from praxis, your blood hunt is also removed.
Fleeting status Edit
Fleeting status traits reflect a character’s notable deeds, achievements, or important patrons: deeds lauded by our sect or faction. These traits can be expended once, and they do not refresh after being used. Once a character receives a trait of fleeting status, she may hold the trait without spending it for as long as she wishes. The status remains on her character sheet until expended.
• Passive:While you possess Acclaimed, you may extend the passive bonus of any one status you currently possess (which is not expended) to one individual per night. This bonus lasts for one hour, so long as they remain within 10 feet of you.
• Spent:You may expend Acclaimedto request that an officer of the sect share her views or offer advice, publically or privately (as you wish), about a subject that is pertinent to the domain. This may be used to further political agendas or for personal gain, such as having the Prince speak about your party in order to encourage people to go or to maneuver a rival into saying something compromising.
• Passive: While you possess Courteous, you cannot be targeted by another character’s use of the Subterfuge skill to redirect blame for the use of a supernatural power.
• Spent:You can expend Courteousto overcome any political gaffe or etiquette-related error you have made in the last five minutes. The error did occur, but those who would be offended by it must accept your apology and cannot hold the error against you.
• Passive:While you possess Courageous, you can use a combat maneuver once per game without spending Willpower. You can only use this passive ability when following the directives of someone who possesses the Authority or Commander abiding status.
• Spent:So long as you are not in the process of violating the laws of your sect, you may expend Courageous to allow one character (yourself or another individual) to use a combat maneuver without spending Willpower.
• Passive:While you possess Defender, you may carry weapons to any gathering, including restricted locations. Vampiric authorities must allow you to go armed. (Note that mortal authorities, and individuals not of your sect, are under no such agreement.)
• Spent:You may expend Defenderwhen you perform an action that would cause you to gain Beast traits to reduce the number of Beast traits gained by 1. You cannot use more than one Defender status on a single sin.
• Passive:While you possess Favored, you are known to have the active support of a patron. An individual who openly attacks you automatically receives the negative status Warned. Characters who currently possess the Authority, Commander, or Triumphant status traits are immune to this passive effect.
• Spent:If you expend Favored when someone awards you negative status, that negative status is negated before it is applied. The same character cannot attempt to award you negative status for the rest of the evening.
• Passive:The Gallant status has no passive bonus.
• Spent: You can expend Gallant to overcome any political or etiquette-related error you have made in the last five minutes. The error did occur, but those who would be offended by it must accept your apology, and may not hold the error against you.
• Passive:While you possess Honorable, individuals who wish to openly accuse you of lying must expend one positive status (of any kind) in order to make the accusation. Even if you possess more than one Honorable trait, only one status must be expended to overcome this passive effect.
• Spent:You can expend Honorable during a scene in which you would otherwise be politically forced to leave. You are allowed to join the scene or remain present. When you expend Honorable in this manner, you are immune to the spend bonus of the abiding status Prominent for the rest of the scene.
• Passive:If you receive the Warned status while you possess Loyal, the status of Loyal is stripped without expenditure rather than applying the status Warned.
• Spent:You may expend Loyal to acquire any one piece of equipment or general information (such as the known location of another character) on short notice. This assistance comes from NPC minions of your sect within five minutes of this expenditure. You cannot use Loyal to gain secret or protected information, or unique equipment, but you can use it to acquire anything that a group of ghouls or low-level vampires can acquire with relative ease.
• Passive:The Praised status has no passive benefit.
• Spent:You can expend Praised to claim a small favor (the level of assistance required from a trivial boon) from any other Accepted member of your sect. You cannot use this to gain a boon from a character who is already in your debt.
• Passive: Sanctioned has no passive bonus.
• Spent:When granted, this status allows a specifically defined breach of one sect law. You can expend Sanctioned to break that law without incurring punishment. This action is a exception to the specific law, allowed by an Authority of a domain.
The status trait Triumphant can only be given by NPCs.
• Passive:While you possess Triumphant, you are granted special privileges at important gatherings of your sect: the best seating, advance notice of important attendees, and other advantages. You are granted the right to feed in any domain controlled by your sect. The number of downtime actions required for you to feed is reduced by 1, to a minimum of 0.
• Spent:You can expend Triumphant to ignore the censure of all negative status possessed by you or another character for one hour. You gain this benefit even if you have negative status that would otherwise prevent you from using status traits.
• Passive:On the night you gain the Victorious status trait, other characters capable of giving positive status can give you such status without expenditure.
• Spent:You can expend Victorious when you expend any other status to immediately regain the spent trait. Alternately, you can expend the Victorious status to remove Warned from yourself or another character within the same jurisdiction where you gained the Victorious trait.
Negative status Edit
Negative status is given as a punishment for poor social behavior, and it has detrimental effects. A negative status trait cannot be spent and remains until removed or until its duration expires. Each negative status trait has a censure, a prohibition placed upon the holder’s activities. These prohibitions are not magical or supernaturally enforced; they are social restrictions that the character is expected to obey for the period she holds this negative status. If a sect officer discovers that a character is in violation of a censure, the censured character suffers the penalties assigned by the trait’s mechanical systems.
• Censure: All fleeting status traits you possess are expended without effect. Fleeting traits lost in this manner are lost temporarily and return at the end of the game session. You cannot gain any further fleeting status while under this effect. The Vulgar trait lasts only for the night in which you are given the status.
• Punishment: If you receive a second Vulgar, this negative status automatically upgrades to Warned.
• Censure: While you carry the Warned status, you may not speak to any officer of your sect in public unless that officer first speaks to you; further, you may not contradict an officer of your sect. If you speak inappropriately, or contradict an officer, you can avoid breaking this censure by apologizing and offering the officer a minor boon. Creative officers may impose alternate restrictions. These might include cutting off the offender’s finger and ordering the Warned character not to regrow it until this status is removed or forcing the offender to bear a visible mark of failure for the duration of the status Warned. These alternate restrictions cannot be used to significantly handicap a character or to force a character into a dangerous situation. If the Storyteller believes this status is being abused, she may overrule the alternate restriction and impose the default censure instead. The Warned negative status lasts for two games or one month, whichever is longer. If a character receives another Warned status while she already possesses Warned, the total duration is increased by two games or one month, whichever is longer. This continues with every further application of Warned.
• Punishment: If a character with the Warned status is found to break the censure of this status, she gains the additional status trait Disgraced. A character does not lose the negative status Warned when she receives Disgraced.
• Censure: While you carry the Disgraced status, the sect prohibits you from carrying weapons or actively using powers in the presence of an officer of your sect, unless you receive the officer’s express permission. Further, you may not feed within your sect’s territories, but must seek scraps elsewhere. A character cannot spend or gain status while she possesses the Disgraced status trait. Other characters are not required to repay boons owed to a character possessing this status. If you are found in violation of this censure by a sect officer, you can avoid punishment by apologizing and offering the officer a major boon. Anyone who publicly insults a Disgraced character gains the fleeting status trait Praised. Multiple characters can gain status for insulting a Disgraced individual, but no character can benefit from a single individual’s Disgraced censure more than once per game. The Disgraced status lasts as long as you hold one or more Warned negative status traits. If you do not possess a Warned negative status when you are awarded Disgraced, then the negative status lasts for two games or one month, whichever is longer.
• Punishment: If a character with the Disgraced status is found to break the censure of this status, she gains the additional status trait Forsaken. A character does not lose the negative status Warned or Disgraced when she receives Forsaken.
• Censure: While you hold the Forsaken negative status, you are no longer considered Accepted by your sect. You hold no status or position, and you may be destroyed without repercussion from your sect. Society’s laws prohibiting your Final Death no longer apply to you. A character who possesses the Authority status trait may allow you to visit or reside within her domain, but cannot remove the Forsaken negative status without an expenditure of the Authority status. A Forsaken character retains this status until she is formally forgiven by a character expending the Authority status on her behalf. Normally a character cannot become Forsaken unless she was first Warned and then Disgraced. However, it is possible for some sect officers to declare an individual Forsaken by their sect as part of a formal hunt for that character’s Final Death. If another sect member kills a vampire who possesses the status trait Forsaken, that individual gains the status trait Triumphant. Only one character may gain status from the death of a Forsaken vampire.
• The target of a blood hunt permanently loses all abiding, innate, and fleeting status traits, and gains the negative status Forsaken.
• The target of a blood hunt cannot offer or claim boons for any reason. Some criminals will try to bribe other Kindred with promises of payment afterwards, but few will take advantage unless they believe the target will survive the ordeal.
• Any Kindred caught associating with or assisting a Bloodhunted vampire within the limits of the domain automatically receives the negative status trait Disgraced.